niomteam.blogg.se

High tor hunting in nys
High tor hunting in nys












high tor hunting in nys

I followed them for a few hundred yards and they were going down a hill that was pretty steep and just kept going. I lost the tracks in this area but when I exited this spot I did see another set of tracks that seemed prettey fresh.

high tor hunting in nys

At this point in time the tracks led to a spot where there were many tracks spread around and about 4 places where deer were bedded down. I followed them until I could tell that they were walking and not running any more. I waited about 15 or 20 minutes to let them go where they were going and then started on there tracks again. I hear a snort and look up and two deer are running away. Right on the edge of the pines it was pretty thick and I broke a couple of branches. I was thinking to myself that there might be a deer or two in there because the tracks were going straight into them. I went probably about another hundred yards and was coming up on a set of pines. A few hundred yards and I came across a fresh pile of droppings. Came across what looked like a pretty fresh set of tracks and decided to follow them. Found a parking spot and went for a walk. Then I saw 5 more on the other side where they had came from. When driving through right when I first got there about 20+ turkeys crossed the road. I'm pretty sure I'm gonna go check it out though hoping that there will not be to many people there now for ML. Yea I don't like the crowds for deer season because you never know who is pushing what or where. Opening day of Spring turkey is also quite crowded. I believe the Finger lakes trail goes thru there too. I have picked up a few spring gobblers doing just that. It is very good in turkey season as you can walk for miles on the logging roads and call as you go. I went over there in spring turkey about 3 years ago and there were deer and turkey all over the place. I tend to stay a long ways from any crowds in gun season. The shooting I would hear over there on opening day is constant so they do keep the deer moving. the pressure falls off and the deer come back before the end of the season. There are so many people there on opening day all the deer get pushed off to the adjacent private lands and that's it. I did very well in Bow season and late gun season years ago. I hear ya WNY, I wouldnt go anywhere near there on opening day.














High tor hunting in nys